Which car number has the most wins in the NASCAR Cup Series?

Erik Jones scored the #43 car’s 200th NASCAR Cup Series victory Sunday at Darlington Raceway. But which car number has more?

Despite not being one of the 16 drivers to qualify for the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series playoffs, Petty GMS Motorsports’ Erik Jones took the checkered flag to win the playoff-opening Cook Out Southern 500 on Sunday night in Darlington Raceway.

The win was the 26-year-old Byron, Michigan native’s first since winning the 2019 Southern 500 while still racing for Joe Gibbs Racing.

Prior to Jones’ third career win, the number 43 car, made famous by the legendary Richard Petty, had not been in victory lane since July 2014, when Aric Almirola scored his 199th win in a shortened race. in the rain at Daytona International Speedway.

Jones is the seventh driver to win a race in the #43 car, the car number responsible for more starts (2,196) than any other car number in Cup history.

Petty, co-owner of the car Jones drives, won a record 200 races throughout his Cup Series career, with 192 behind the wheel of the #43 car.

Two drivers, Jim Paschal and Bobby Hamilton, each won two races in the #43 car. Lee Petty and John Andretti each won one, as did Almirola.

But with 200 wins, the #43 car isn’t the winningest car in Cup Series history. That title goes to the #11 car, which has 228 wins in 2,123 starts.

Only two other car numbers have reached 100 career wins, and both rank at 101: car #2 and car #3.

See also  Sainz had to "completely change" F1's driving style to take the lead in the 2022 Ferrari

Here is a list of the 10 winningest numbers in Cup Series history.

  1. Car #11 – 228 wins
  2. #43 car – 200 wins
  3. #2 car – 101 wins
  4. #3 car – 101 wins
  5. #24 car – 97 wins
  6. #21 car – 92 wins
  7. #48 car – 91 wins
  8. #22 car – 85 wins
  9. #6 car – 83 wins
  10. #4 car – 82 wins

With the #18 car sitting in 11th with 80 wins, nine of the all-time winning 11 car numbers have found victory lane at some point during the first 27 races of the 2022 season. These nine numbers are responsible for 13 wins this year.

The only two car numbers on this list that have yet to find victory lane in 2022 are the #21 car, which last won in June 2017 at Pocono Raceway with Wood Brothers Racing’s Ryan Blaney, and the #21 car. #6, which last won in July 2011 at Daytona International Speedway with Roush Fenway Racing’s David Ragan.

Harrison Burton currently drives the #21 Ford for Wood Brothers Racing, and Brad Keselowski currently drives the #6 Ford for RFK Racing.

Notably, another victory for the #21 car would be the 100th victory for the Wood Brothers.

Leave a Comment