Two drivers compete for the 10th win of the year at Merrittville Speedway

Two drivers each took their 10th checkered flag of the season at Merrittville Speedway on Saturday night as racing returned to Ontario’s longest continuously operating dirt track.

Despite reaching double digits in wins at his hometown track, neither St. Catharines’ Mat Williamson, in 358 Modified; and Brent Begolo, Thorold, Mod Lite; they have yet to clinch the division championships with a week to go in the season-long points race.

Williamson, who also set the pace in a Big Block feature Friday night at Ransomville Speedway in western New York, leads Ryan Susice by three points and Gary Lindberg by 13. Begolo leads the Mod Lite driver standings with 795 points, 24 more than Josh. Cut.

Hagersville’s Dave Bailey raced to his ninth win of the season in Hoosier Stock, the circuit’s 8-cylinder class. The 60 points for first place was more than enough to give the defending champion another title, as he increased his lead over Kyle Pelrine to 137 points.

Niagara Falls’ Ken Hair won his third feature of the season in 4-cylinder and Welland’s Dustin Duga his fourth of the year in the V6 division.

Port Colborne’s Darren Dykstra edged out Mike Bowman, Merrittville’s reigning points king in the 358 Modified, for victory in a 25-lap main event featuring drivers competing on the Action Sprint Tour.

The Sportsman class race teams had the night off and will return next Saturday. Cody McPherson of St. Catharines has already clinched the points championship for the second year in a row.

In touch this Saturday, in a program presented by Semenuks Esso, will be the 50-lap John Spencer Memorial Race for 358 Modifieds, features in Sportsman, Hoosier Stock, Mod Lite and 4-Cylinder classes, as well as the Bus Race schoolchildren. . Pits open at 5 p.m., grandstands at 5:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7:30 p.m.

See also  AF Corse goes the distance in the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup

The following are the top five and series winners from Saturday night’s show, as well as the updated driver points standings:

Corr/Pak Merchandising 358 Modified, 35 laps: 1. Mat Williamson, 2. Ryan Susice, 3. Gary Lindberg, 4. Pete Bicknell, 5. Dave Flannigan Jr. Heat gainers: Flannigan, Tanner Podwinsky. Tickets: 17 Points: 1. Mat Williamson, 883; 2. Ryan Suice, 880; 3. Gary Lindberg, 870; 4. Pete Bicknell, 858; 5. Fred Carleton, 723.

Action Sprint Tour powered by Pinty’s, 25 laps: 1. Jacob Dykstra, 2. Mike Bowman, 3. Brett Stratford, 4. Mathieu Bardier, 5. Darren Dryden. Heat gainers: Adrian Stahle, Allan Downey, Dykstra. Tickets: 17 Points: not applicable, not a regular division.

Hoosier Stocks, 20 Laps: 1. Dave Bailey, 2. Kyle Pelrine, 3. Pete Reid, 4. Jason Fontaine, 5. Ken Sargent. Heat gainers: Fontaine, Reid. Tickets: sixteen. Points: 1. Dave Bailey, 1002; 2.Kyle Pelrine, 865; 3.

Rona Doidge Modified Lites, 20 laps: 1. Brent Begolo, 2. Josh Sliter, 3. Rob Misener, 4. Tyler Winger, 5. Sean Iftody. Heat gainers: Begolo, Sliter. Tickets: 22 Points: 1. Brent Begolo, 795; 2. Josh Sliter, 771; 3.Tyler Winger, 754; 4. Sean Iftody, 732; 5. Rob Misener, 708.

Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the 4-reel lane, 15 laps: 1. Ken Hair, 2. Vincent Pagnotta, 3. Tyler Lafantaisie, 4. Clinton Barrick, 5. Austyn Werstroh. Heat gainers: Trevor DeBoer, Pagnotta, Sean Iftody. Tickets: 22 Points: 1. Tyler Lafantaisie, 886; 2. Trevor DeBoer, 828; 3. Austyn Werstroh, 776; 4. Vicente Pagnotta, 742; 5. Clinton Barrick, 726.

V6, 12 turns: 1. Dustin Duga, 2. Zach Dmytrow, 3. Chris Mussat, 4. Tina Ronning, 5. Joe Cushman. Series Winner: Duga. Tickets: 5. Points: not available.

See also  Dave Bailey wins sixth title at Ohsweken Speedway

Conversation track: Race teams, fans, track staff and three community organizations (Merrittville Speedway Karting Club, Thorold Legion, Thorold Volunteers Firefighters Association) raised more than $2,000 for Jessica Lynn, a photographer whose camera was destroyed when she was hit by a race car that turned the week. prior to. She only suffered minor injuries and returned to the track on Saturday…Thorold’s Tyler Lafantaisie has all but clinched the 4-cylinder track championship. He has a 58-point lead heading into the final week of the points race.

Leave a Comment