Riverhead Raceway: Soper clinches fourth modified title in five years

Manorville’s Kyle Soper clinched his fourth NASCAR Modified championship in five years at Riverhead Raceway on Saturday night, winning a 50-lap race for his 29th career victory. That moved him to 11th place on the all-time wins list. Soper also recently won another New York State NASCAR Weekly Series championship thanks to his four-win season.

Wading River’s Chris Turbush crossed the line in second, with Dix Hills’ Dylan Slepian in third, making him runner-up in the championship chase.

In a final 40-lap Late Model marathon, opening night winner Dave Brigati of Calverton closed out the season the same way he started it, with his second win of the year. In doing so, he achieved his first Late Model championship. Riverhead’s Mark Stewart was impressed in second place. Brightwaters’ Shawn Patrick recovered from a spin early in the race to reclaim third place.

Glen Cove’s Owen Grennan clinched his first career track championship with his fourth win of the year at Crate Modified. Grennan was immediately followed in the race by Yaphank’s AJ DeSantis and Islip Terrace’s Vinny Delaney.

Bay Shore’s Cody Triola clinched his second straight Blunderbust championship with a second place finish over 20 laps. Riverhead’s Jim Laird Jr. had his second win of the year and Mastic’s Brandon Hubbard had his third.

Northport’s Sean Glennon clinched the Super Pro Truck championship thanks to his runner-up tally. The 20-lap race was won by Jack Handley Jr. of Medford. Deer Park’s Lou Maestri was third.

Center Moriches’ Allan Pedersen scored his second Figure Eight win of 2022, a 20-lap race. Mastic Beach’s Gary Fritz Jr. was second and Shirley’s Scott Pedersen was third.

Joey Braun earned his 10th career victory, a historic milestone, in a 20-lap legendary stock car racing event in which three Manorville drivers took the top three spots. Riely O’Keefe drove second and Ray Fitzgerald was third.


The curtain fell on regular season racing at Riverhead Raceway in a big way Sunday afternoon. Center Moriches’ Allan Pedersen won his second figure-eight in a 24-hour span when he led the field in a 15-lap finish, while Miller Place’s Gerard Lawrence survived a side-by-side battle for victory in a 30-lap race. laps. The Street Stock event and Baldwin’s Andrew Farnham won a 30-lap Mini Stock contest, winning the 2022 championship in the process.

See also  We take a look inside Porsche's private Le Mans race car test

Leave a Comment