Narveson: Guttormson to be honored with ‘Spirit of 83’ race Friday at Chateau – Post Bulletin

The only track race in the area this weekend will be Chateau Speedway in Lansing on Friday, September 9.

Drivers will take part in the 25th annual Mike Guttormson Memorial Race, now called “The Spirit of ’83” race, after Guttormson’s car number.

The USRA Modifieds will compete for $2,000 to win their feature on Friday. Also on the card will be WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, USRA B-Mods, USRA Stock Cars and Pure Stocks.

The annual event recognizes the memory of Guttormson, a former multiple-time track champion and former WISSOTA 100 champion. The Austin native passed away shortly after winning his final feature race on May 30, 1997 at Chateau. Drivers who have previously won the race include Brad Waits, Jason Krohn, Neil Eckhart, Mike Sorensen, Jason Cummins, Ryan Gustin and Rodney Sanders.

A big three-race swing for the USMTS Modified Series came to our area last weekend. After the race at Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa; Rochester’s Dustin Sorensen still holds the points lead.

Sorensen finished fifth at Fountain City, second at Deer Creek and another fifth at West Union. Those solid results allowed Sorensen to extend his lead to 84 points over Tanner Mullens of Wichita, Kan.

Jacob Bleess of Chatfield lifted the monkey off his back a bit last weekend. Bleess has had a rough couple of months, but he had a good weekend close to home.

After a tough 24th place finish on Friday, the Bleess team totally overhauled their car and it paid off. Bleess finished fourth on Saturday at Deer Creek and then was third at West Union on Sunday.

There are six races left on the 2022 USMTS schedule. After a two-week break, they return to Deer Creek for the three-day Fall Jamboree September 22-24.

Schott crowns the monument to Karl Fenske

The third annual Karl Fenske Memorial Race was held on Thursday, September 1 at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wisconsin. This event was a make-up date as the rain stopped in May.

The USRA Modifieds field was bolstered with many USMTS drivers who came into town a day early for the $4,999 to win show. The USMTS drivers were looking for a few laps around the track in preparation for the USMTS $10,000 tilt to win the following night.

Thirty-nine Mods signed up for the show. The main event was dominated by local drivers who defended their territory.

See also  Malaysian Badminton Open | Sports

Chatfield’s Lucas Schott started second, took the lead and scored the big payday win. Winona’s Jake Timm placed second and Sorensen was third. Josh Angst and Keith Foss, both of Winona, were ranked eighth and tenth, respectively.

The USRA B-Modifieds feature thrilled fans with the closest ending imaginable. Taylor Skauge of Caledonia edged multiple time national champion Dan Hovden of Decorah, Iowa by one thousandth (0.001) at the checkered flag.

In other action at the Fenske Memorial, Chris Hovden of Cresco, Iowa earned his 12th USRA Hobby Stock victory. Lance Hofer also edged out Brad Waits of Rochester to win the USRA Late Models.

O’Neil wins 8th USMTS show at MTS

Runners were at it again Friday at the Mississippi Thunder. This time, USMTS mods invaded the facility for a $10,000 show to win.

Jake Timm was in the lead when a severe storm moved through the Fountain City area. The race was stopped and circuit officials were determined to complete the remainder of the race. The storm moved on and the track got back in shape to end the show. Jake O’Neil of Tuscon, Ariz. passed Timm for the lead and won his eighth of the year.

AJ Diemel and Tanner Mullens also passed Timm for second and third place. Sorensen was fifth in the final round.

After a DNF the night before, Joe Chisholm of Osage, Iowa was back on track in the USRA B-Mods. Chisholm started 11th and worked his way to the front for his 14th win of the year.

Chris Hovden swept the weekend when he won the USRA Hobby Stocks for the second night in a row. In USRA Late Models, Dylan Kromschroeder led the main race.

Season Champions Decided at Chateau

Last week was the final night for track points at Chateau Speedway. Several titles were decided in the final opportunity to claim a title.

Chateau dodged the storms that blew up just east of the racetrack and put on the show. But all attendees witnessed a spectacular light show in the sky.

Ryan Wetzstein edged out Jason Cummins by two points in the USRA Modified. Wetzstein abandoned his manga and had to start in line for the performance. Cummins won his share of heat and had a terrible re-tie to start 10th.

See also  LeBron's 47 points on 38th birthday lead Lakers to NBA victory

In a great race, Cummins charged out front and then passed both Darwyn Karau and Steve Wetzstein to take the dramatic win and his seventh championship at Lansing.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified national points leader Jake Smith of St. Joseph, Minnesota won his 21st event of the season. Austin’s Greg Pfeifer Jr. finished far enough ahead of Kadden Kath to win the points title.

The Pure Stock title was decided on the last lap. Michael Wick won the feature race and the points title when previous points leader Andrew Eischens was disqualified in what was called an on-track incident.

Rose Creek’s Michael Johnson won his fifth USRA B-Modifeids feature and also the points title. In that race, Austin’s Noah Grinstead ran from 12th to second.

Kevin Donlan charged from 12th to win the USRA Stock Cars. Tanner Chadderdon won the Hornet feature.

Chisholm Brothers back at Deer Creek

The USMTS Modified Series highlighted the program at Deer Creek Speedway on Saturday. USRA B-Mods and USRA Stock Cars were also on the bill.

A huge field of 138 cars was available including 44 USMTS mods, 31 USRA stocks and a whopping pack of 63 USRA B-Mods.

The 42-spin USMTS Modified feature with $10,000 to win was excellent. Sorensen and Jim Chisholm traded the lead several times. Sorensen took one last Hail Mary lap, but when it was all said and done, Chisholm was in victory lane.

This was Chisholm’s second USMTS win in his rookie season. Jacob Bleess of Chatfield put an end to the gremlins that had been fighting his team. Bleess had the best run of his in quite some time in fourth place.

Joe Chisholm is still the talk of the USRA B-Mods. Chisholm started second, but polesitter Ben Moudry held a fairly large lead. Chisholm chased down the leader, made the pass and got the win.

For Chisholm it was his 10th win in his last 11 starts. The only time he didn’t win was a DNF at Fountain City on Thursday when he hit the wall.

Josh Zieman dominated the USRA Stock Car feature. Zieman came out front and walked away for the win, which was his second of the season at Deer Creek.

Leave a Comment