Mod Squad spectacular in PRP

WEST PORTSMOUTH – On Saturday night at Portsmouth Raceway Park, Lemley Motorsports presented the annual “Mod Squad Spectacular” while Dean Knittel and Sons Auto Repair presented 410 Winged Sprint Cars. Also on the card were Limited Lates and Sport Mods.

Pedro’s Brian Skaggs won the “Mod Squad Spectacular”. He dominated the race, but the finish was not without drama despite Skaggs being one straight ahead of his closest competitor. With two laps to go, he broke his right front suspension, so he had to finish the race on three wheels. The reigning PRP track champion did just that and captured his third standout win of the season.

“The Mod Squad Spectacular” was a battle of attrition. More than half of the field crashed or experienced mechanical failure. Two of the drivers who started in the top 5, Ervin Vance and Nathan Loney, ended up struggling and had to leave the track after being involved in a crash early in the race. Outside poleman and current points leader Jeremy Rayburn was also involved in that crash and had to ride to the rear. Later he would have to start and finish 12th.

Rayburn’s misfortunes, coupled with second-place finish Anthony Slusher, allowed him to take a 30-point lead over Rayburn in the battle for this year’s Local Happenings App Modified Track Championship.

Minford’s Adam Colley would move up from 11th to third in Saturday’s race. Jody Puckett from Melvin, KY finished in fourth place. Hi-hat, KY’s Brandon Hutchinson moved up 15 places from 20th to 5th. Cole Perine, Michael Paul Howard, Tony DeHart, Brayden Berry and JP Roberts would round out the top 10.

See also  Red Bull racing show offers burnouts, stunts and screaming engines

Skaggs, Rayburn, Vance and Puckett all scored heat race victories. Howard won the B-Main and Loney set a fast time in The Dynamic Shock Service Modified Time Trials with a time of 16.641.

Canada’s Skylar Gee took victory in the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association’s 410 Winged Sprint Car race. Gee took the lead from Jamie Myers on lap 11 and would hang on for the win.

Myers, Cole Duncan, Kory Crabtree and Danny Smith rounded out the top 5. Ron Blair, Todd Kane, Brandon Conkel, Nate Reeser and Bradley Ashford rounded out the top 10.

Hunter Lynch, Duncan and Gee all won heat races, and Bryan Nuckles set a fast time with a recorded lap of 13.576.

The most competitive feature of the night occurred at The O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Late Model A-Main. Polesitter Evyian Terry jumped into the lead and from the start he had to fend off challenges from Robbie Lewis.

Billy Staker, who started fifth, would eventually jump to the top side and make it work. He would ride the high line to the front, as he passed Terry for the lead on lap 9. After getting to the point, Staker just never got away from Terry. As Staker kept working on the top, Terry kept hitting the bottom and with two laps remaining, Terry retook the lead and held on to the finish.

Staker would have to settle for second. Lewis, Jesse Lyons Jr, Alan Salisbury, Jody Adkins, Kevin Terry, Rick Stringer, Corey Noel and Richie Edwards rounded out the top 10. Evyian Terry and Adkins took the wins in the heat race.

See also  O'Neal defends his home turf the night before the Jackson 100 win

In the Sport Mod division of Express Oil & Tire Engineers, Stout’s Zack Pendleton was dominant. In his first race of the season, the 5-time PRP Track champion led every lap of the A-Main. Derek Richmond, Scott LeMaster, Joe McClain, Stevie D. Thornsberry, Jason Spillman, Cody Price, Branden Colley, James Cox and Alan Kiser rounded out the top 10. Pendleton and Thornsberry were the heat race winners.

PRP will be back in action next Saturday when The Huntington Drum Company presents The Pepsi River Days Rumble 50 paying Late Models $15,000 to win. The race will be sanctioned by The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. Also on the card will be Modifieds and Sport Mods. Pit doors will open at 2 p.m. and general admission doors will open at 4 p.m.

Leave a Comment