Luke Browning wins Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year

The 20-year-old Briton will receive £200,000, a test drive in an Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula 1 car, full membership in the British Racing Drivers’ Club and an Arai helmet as a prize.

Browning beat out fellow finalists Ollie Bearman, Jamie Chadwick and Louis Foster to become the 33rd winner of the award, which aims to find and nurture rising British single-seater drivers.

He was announced as the winner of the prestigious Autosport Awards at Grosvenor House on Park Lane, receiving his award from 1992 award winner and triple Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti, the four-time Formula 1 world champion. , Sebastian Vettel, and Autosport editor-in-chief Kevin Turner.

An elated Browning said: “Amazing! It was really special to see all the names in the room, to add my name to the list… Words can’t describe.

“It’s a disservice to the guys for the hard work they put into me, I’m very appreciative. Thank you.”

Browning became the first driver to claim the British F4 and GB3 crowns when he took five wins with Hitech Grand Prix and secured the 2022 GB3 title at the Donington Park finale in October.

After fitness testing with Athletic Thinking and simulator evaluation with the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team, the four finalists for the award spent two days at Silverstone. They drove MotorSport Vision Formula 2, Beechdean Motorsport-run Aston Martin Vantage GT3 and United Autosports Ligier LMP3 on the Grand Prix circuit.

More: How to win the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award

Lucas Browning

Lucas Browning

Photo by: Andrew Ferraro/Motorsport Images

Browning joins an illustrious list of previous winners of the award, dating back to 1989, which includes 2009 F1 world champion Jenson Button, 13-time Grand Prix winner David Coulthard, current F1 drivers Lando Norris and George Russell and 2014 world endurance champion Anthony Davidson. .

See also  Texas A&M Vs. Football Preview Arkansas, prediction

The judging panel for the 2022 Award was led by former F1 driver and BRDC Vice President Derek Warwick. The other judges were four-time IndyCar champion Franchitti, successful McLaren and Lola designer Mark Williams, Le Mans-winning engineer Leena Gade, Aston Martin development driver and 1996 award winner Darren Turner, GT team boss. and 1997 award winner Andrew Kirkaldy, Cadillac LMDh driver and 2008 award winner Alexander Sims, seasoned commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Autosport editor-in-chief Kevin Turner.

all winners

1989 david coulthard
1990 gareth rees
1991 Oliver Gavin
1992 Dario Franchitti
1993 Ralph Firman Jr.
1994 jamie davies
nineteen ninety five Jonny Kane
nineteen ninety six Darren Turner
1997 andres kirkaldy
1998 jenson button
1999 Gary Paffett
2000 anthony davidson
2001 steven kane
2002 jamie green
2003 Alex Lloyd
2004 paul di resta
2005 Oliver Jarvis
2006 Oliver Turvey
2007 stefano wilson
2008 alexander sims
2009 dean smith
2010 lewis williamson
2011 Oliver Rowland
2012 jake dennis
2013 matt parry
2014 george russell
2015 will palmer
2016 Lando Norris
2017 Dan Ticktum
2018 tom bet
2019 jonathan hoggard
2021 Zak O’Sullivan
2022 Lucas Browning

Other awards decided by panels of expert judges include the Gold Medal for Lifetime Legacy, the Gregor Grant Award for Lifetime Achievement, Motorsports Promoter of the Year and Esports Team of the Year presented by Motorsport Games. Moment of the Year presented by Bang & Olufsen and Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future are awards that have returned for 2022.

Other categories, decided by fan voting, include International Racing Driver of the Year presented by Pirelli, International Rally Driver of the Year, British Racing Driver of the Year, Rookie of the Year, International Racing Car of the Year presented by Blink Experience. , Rally Car of the Year, National Driver of the Year and Esports Driver of the Year presented by Motorsport Games.

See also  “Cryptocurrency volatility is a problem”: NBA world erupts as worrying news emerges about former No. 1 Draft pick

To find out who our other award winners are, visit

Leave a Comment