Foster takes victory and Indy Pro 2000 title in first Portland race

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Exclusive Autosport’s Louis Foster clinched the 2022 Indy Pro 2000 championship with victory in the first race at Portland.

The Briton led the way from the lights to the flag and only his title rival, Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Reece Gold, was able to keep up his pace in the first half of the race. Gold’s teammate Enaam Ahmed completed the podium in third place.

It was chaos at turn one with lots of tire lockups, multiple drivers cutting the corner and the DEForce Racing duo of Nolan Siegel and Kiko Porto spinning around due to contact. Jack William Miller hit the back of Siegel under braking, who then hit his teammate as he spun.

Both Siegel and Porto were forced to retire from the race, while Miller was able to continue despite being two laps behind when he left the pit lane after fitting a new front wing. He would take the checkered flag nine laps after visiting the pit lane twice more.

Up front, polesitter Foster held the race lead ahead of Gold, who had attempted a move for first place by committing to the outside line.

By lap five, they had already built up a three-second gap to Ahmed, who would not be able to match the pace of the first two drivers.

As the race progressed, Foster began to open a gap to Gold, which was over three seconds, on his way to a championship-sealing victory.

Jay Howard Development Driver’s Marcos Flack avoided trouble at the first corner to move up to fourth from last on the grid. Despite not having enough pace to challenge for the podium, he was able to hold on to the early position, holding off what was a seven-car train for most of the race.

See also  Hawkeyes No. 67 in college football's latest rerank
Race result (30 laps)
Pos. Driver Equipment Weather
1 louis foster exclusive motoring 34m54.4064s
two reece gold Hollinger Racing Junks +2.1474s
3 Enam Ahmed Hollinger Racing Junks +11.6947s
4 flack frames Jay Howard Pilot Development +28.1933s
5 jonathan browne Turn 3 Motoring +29.1087s
6 jordan missig pabst racing +30.4428s
7 braden eve Jay Howard Pilot Development +30.9413s
8 dawn savior Jay Howard Pilot Development +32.8622s
9 joseph green Turn 3 Motoring +33.1841s
10 bijoy garg DEForce Racing +33.7361s
eleven Yuven Sundaramoorthy pabst racing +36.4132s
12 lindsay brewer exclusive motoring +47.7191s
13 jack william miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports with exclusive Autosport +9 laps
Retired nolan siegel DEForce Racing
Retired kiko porto DEForce Racing
Fastest lap: Miller, 1m09.9349s

championship standings
1 encourage 409 two gold 326 3 ahmed 300 4 siegel 298 5 eve 282 6 green 277 7 dawn 260 8 Porto 243 9 Sundaramoorthy 223 10 miller 217

Leave a Comment